Crossing Borders-From India to the Land of Flying Tigresses and Thunder Dragons

I must confess that like most people I did not know much about Bhutan  except that it has monarchy,GNH(Gross National Happiness)as the index of its progress,Prime Minister Narendra Modi chose it as his first foreign destination and   one of my favourite actors Tony  Leung had got married there.Also the Tiger Nest  which is the first image that comes to mind when I think of this land.I don’t like to read up a lot before going to  a  place as it minimises the joy of exploring   and this time I did pay for my casual attitude.

My UK  friend who was to come with me had to cancel her ticket at the last minute  because we did not realise that a person having OCI (overseas citizen of India) card  would have  to pay 250$ per day.Confusing?Bhutan  strictly regulates its tourism.People having Indian,Maldivian or Bangladeshi passports do not require a visa to  enter the country and the rest   would have to get a visa  and book through a registered tour operator..We had booked through a Bhutanese travel agency . Then came another shocker.The immigration office at the border town would not be open on Saturdays and Sundays and I was reaching on a Friday evening. They also restrict the entry for solo travellers(no gender bias here )There was no way to change the dates or get someone to go with me.Being an easy going unstructured traveller I thought I should just take a chance .

The flight from New  Delhi took 2 hours and I reached Bagdogra at 12 30 and rushed into the  waiting taxi . The distance from Bagdogra to the border town Phuentsholing is 284  km and it would take 4-5 hours.The  immigration office    is open from 9  to 4 pm and I had to keep in my mind that Bhutan time is 30 minutes ahead of India Standard Time.So it was a race  against time. Rishikesh  ,the driver ,took up the challenge and zipped through  the well maintained roads .It was a beautiful drive and I let the sights of green paddy fields,tea estates,army units,Teesta river and many more nameless rivers  to steady my nerves.

index

Tea estate

index

index

Teesta River

It was 4 30pm  when we crossed  the imposing Bhutan gate and  I could  not imagine that border crossing would be like this.Jaigaon is the border town on the Indian side and Phuentshoing its  Bhutan counter part.I have made it this far and now  the time has come for the final formalities.If the office is closed I would have to wait  till Monday and I just did not want to lose two precious days at the border.

IMG_9921

Bhutan Gate-Jaigaon side(India)

Bhutan April 2016 038

Bhutan Gate-Phuentsholing(Bhutan)

 

The immigration office is just  about 50 metres from the gate and Singey-the travel agent was waiting  there. I rushed into the building with my passport,2 photographs and the duly filled permit form and met a  gracious lady  official   .Documents were examined,photographs  and finger prints were taken and I was granted the entry permit .This is valid for 7 days and only  upto Thimpu the capital city.I could not thank her enough .

IMG_0017

Immigration Office

At last  I was officially in the Druk Yul  and thus began my dragon tales.

index

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Crossing Borders-From India to the Land of Flying Tigresses and Thunder Dragons

Leave a Reply

